Pit Guy

You know how the new Snickers commercials revolve around the statement, “ You’re not you when you’re hungry?” Well, I’m not me when I’m angry.
 

I don’t like being mad. I don’t like holding grudges against people, either. Whenever I do, I always feel like I have an ice-cold heart of darkness and I do not like it. This is why I tend to let go of situations beyond my control and why I always forgive people very easily.
 

In my opinion, forgiveness is the final form of love. Forgiving someone takes a lot of patience, humility, and strength. Thus, it makes it one of the hardest things to do and this is why it is the final form of love.
 

As a Catholic, I am taught to “love my enemies”. I used to think this was such an absurd idea! I used to think, “How on earth can I love someone who I hate?” However, as I got older I began realized the importance of forgiving those who have hurt me: Forgiveness is not for the other person. Forgiveness is not for God. Forgiveness is for me.
 

In one of my favorite episodes of “How I Met Your Mother”, the gang deals with their own “pit guy” (which is someone that a person has been obsessed or angry with that they would throw them in a pit in their basement, “The Silence of the Lambs” style). Throughout the episode, each member deals with his or her own pit guy. They go through various stages of anger, to grief, to violence, to forgiveness (in a very comedic manner, of course).
 

But what touched me the most was what was said towards the end of the episode. In a voice over, Ted Mosby said, “Sometimes in life you’ll make a pit for someone in your mind. But ultimately, the only person in that pit is yourself.”
 

I think that is one of the most beautiful quotes I have ever heard. That quote has stuck with me ever since I watched the episode. And every time I make an imaginary “pit” for someone in my mind, I remember what Ted Mosby said and I pull myself out of the pit.
 

I have not confronted my friend yet and she has not talked to me. But in my heart, I forgive her. I really do.
 

 

xoxo
Cassie

Standard

Leave a Reply

